About Our Speakers

Mark Boyd Phd, PE, DWRE, CAPM

Principal Engineer
LCA Environmental, Inc.

Dr. Boyd’s current position is as VP Technical Elect of the Texas Section. He holds a PhD, MS, and BS in Civil Engineering from Southern Methodist University (SMU). He has been a continuous member of ASCE since 1984. He is the Principal Engineer and Managing Engineering partner of LCA Environmental, Inc. (LCA), joining LCA not long after its founding. He has 35 years of Civil and Environmental Engineering pollution assessment, cleanup and prevention experience. As a private consultant, he’s solved environmental problems for infrastructure projects serving multiple local and state agencies including TxDOT (multiple districts statewide), Railroad Commission of Texas, TCEQ, DART, City of Dallas, City of Fort Worth, Fort Worth Transit Authority (Trinity Metro), Tarrant Regional Water District, North Texas Municipal Water District, and many others. He’s also served on the adjunct faculty at the SMU Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering for over 20 years, teaching graduate and undergraduate environmental engineering specialty courses in engineering microbiology, groundwater pollution transport, fate and transport of contaminants and wastewater treatment processes. He has prepared and presented numerous papers and posters for Texas Section meetings, including some awarded best of the session. In addition to his current position as VP Technical elect, he has served in many other positions at section and branch levels. He served five years as a Dallas Branch officer, including two years as Past President. He’s also served as EWRI chair at the branch and section level. He’s also served on numerous Texas Section efforts including the Centennial committee and others. In 2019, Boyd served as a fundraiser on the organizing committee of the ASCE Global event National Education Summit and Civil Engineering Department Chair conference. His most recent role was as the chair lead of the 55-member committee developing Texas ASCE’s 2021 infrastructure report card. He is a member of Chi Epsilon (since 1988). Notable awards have included TSPE Dallas Engineer of the Year (2010). TSPE Texas Engineer of the Year (2012), and ASCE Dallas Branch Engineer of the Year (2015).