About Our Speakers

Sushant Sharma PhD, PMP

Research Scientist
Texas A&M University/Texas A&M Transportation Institute


Dr. Sushant Sharma is a Research Scientist and Asst. Program Manager in the Multimodal Freight Program of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI), Texas A&M University, College Station. He is known for his expertise in network modeling, travel demand modeling, freight planning, modeling and simulations, big-data analysis, and traffic operations. He has been with TTI for more than a decade and has worked with various groups, divisions, and programs.

Over the last 16 years, he has led or worked on numerous research and consulting projects sponsored by Federal Highway Administration, National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP), USDOT’s University Transportation Centers, and State DOTs. He closely assists state Departments of Transportation (DOTs) with their specific applied research needs and works on numerous state and federal research projects.

Dr. Sharma has published a book chapter, ~50 peer-reviewed journal and conference papers, and 24 technical/research reports on topics such as freight modeling, safety, real-time traffic operations, network modeling, travel forecasting, evacuation, GIS data integration, and transit asset management. Dr. Sharma is an Associate Editor of Transportation Research Records and reviews for almost all transportation research journals.

Dr. Sharma is a well-known expert at national, and international levels. At the national level, Dr. Sharma serves as a Chair of the Freight Transportation Planning and Logistics (AT015) Committee of the US National Academy of Science, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM’s) Transportation Research Board (TRB). He is also a member of the ASCE Freight and Intermodal Logistics Committee and TRB’s Standing Committee on Disaster Response, Emergency Evacuations, and Business Continuity. At the international level, he is Chair, of the Freight Transport Modeling Group of the World Conference on Transportation Research Society (WCTRS).

TRB Committee led by Dr. Sharma received the 2023 and 2024 Blue Ribbon Awards for implementing research into practice and promoting committee diversity. Dr. Sharma also received a Best Researcher Award from the Texas A&M Transportation Institute in 2023.

Return to about session:

Transportation of Permitted Wind Energy Related Components in Texas: Challenges and Opportunities



Call: 512-472-8905

Email: office@texasce.org

For more info, visit Contact Us